Code for Sustainable Homes

The Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH) is an environmental assessment method for rating and certifying the performance of new home. It is a Government owned national standard intended to encourage continuous improvement in sustainable home building. CSH covers nine categories of sustainable design:

  • Energy and CO2 emissions
  • Water
  • Materials
  • Surface Water Run-off
  • Waste
  • Pollution
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Management
  • Ecology

There are mandatory performance requirements in 6 categories; all other performance requirements are flexible. It is possible to achieve an overall level of between zero and six dependant on the mandatory standards and proportion of flexible standards achieved.

Building to the Code can be seen as a mark of quality as well as a legal requirement as the Government pushes for its 2016 zero carbon targets. Developers can use building to the Code for Sustainable Homes as a way to differentiate themselves from their competitors and offer greater appeal to the market.

This service can be provided by LABC Warranty

T: 0845 054 0505